Finished projects, finished books and Spanish

I can say that I have finally gotten my knitting mojo back, sort of. Over the last few weeks, I have finish some knitting for hire projects and got them in the mail, which leaves me wide open to work on my own personal projects for awhile. I also finished up a pair of socks that have been in the works for quite a few months, and I am well on the way to finishing another sweater. Although I realized last weekend that if I don’t lose the weight I have been wanting to lose I wouldn’t be able to wear the sweater. No biggy I guess. I could aways give it to my tiny niece, that is if she would wear it. Otherwise it will go to Purple Heart with my next donation and someone who really needs it will get a hand knit sweater.

Since getting the knitting for hire projects and the socks finished I haven’t done much knitting because I have been imersing myself in trying to finally learn spanish. We finally purchased Rosetta Stone, the newly released version 4 Totale, which has online interaction with other learners as well as tutors for practice and review sessions. So far I like the method of learning, although I am really struggling with formulating my sentences especially when I am talking to the tutor online. They have a rule in the sessions that you and the tutor can only speak the language you are learning, which is really difficult for me since I know very little spanish right now. Which also means much of what the tutor says goes right over my head and the little bit that I do pick up it takes me a second or two to process what she has said and then another second or two to formulate my respond and again another second or two to actually get the words out of my mouth.

I have had two online review sessions with the tutorss so far, both on just the very first unit of Level 1, but I am already starting to get better at my responses, still very slow though. I know it will take a lot of practice. I will just have to have my MIL speak to me only in spanish so I can look at her with this blank look on my face like I have been looking at the tutors online, although they can’t really see my face. LOL.

I know one day I will be fluent in spanish, but it might take the rest of my life to accomplish it.

I promise to have pictures of some of the finished objects in my next post, but for now I leave you with another book.

I finished this book last week and I really enjoyed it. There are two more books that follow this one and I am looking forward to reading both of them.

The Girl Who Played with Fire (Millennium, #2)The Girl Who Played with Fire by Stieg Larsson

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

View all my reviews

I started this book as soon as I finished the last, even though I still have three other books started. I know I really should finish the other books, but for some reason I just can’t get through them.

This book is a cozy mystery and a very quick read. I probably would have finished it already if I hadn’t been spending so many hours each day studying spanish. I am nearly at the end of the book, but I am rather disappointed, because I think I figured out who the murderer was before I was even halfway through the book. I sort of hope I am wrong, only because mysteries shouldn’t be this predictable.

Through the Grinder (Coffeehouse Mystery, #2)Through the Grinder by Cleo Coyle

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

