Dyeing Yarn

A few weeks ago, I had lots of fun dyeing up yarn for my Sock Yarn Blanket. I have wanted to attempted the whole dying yarn process, but have always felt too overwhelmed with the process and the possibility that the yarn wouldn’t turn out the way I expected or as something that I didn’t like. And having never wanted to ruin a full skein of sock yarn I just never took the plunge.

Recently when I started my Sock Yarn Blanket I was in need of a variety of different sock yarns, and although I have joined many swaps to get a variety of yarn for my blanket I decided this was the perfect opportunity to experiment with dyeing. Then with the help of the Ravelry Group What a Kool Way to Dye I decided to just go for it.

So I took two different skeins of Knit Picks Sock yarn and divided them up into 20 mini skeinlettes. Don’t they look fun even before they were dyed.

DSCN0136

Using Wilton’s Icing Dyes I mixed up my colors and just went for it. Not really knowing exactly how the yarn would turn out, but not too concerned because they were only little skeinlettes. Here are two skeinlettes in their after bath.

DSCN0138

And then on to the drying stage. We have the perfect place to hang up the skeinlettes right in our kitchen. Don’t they look yummy. I couldn’t resist just standing there looking at them and my accomplishment.

DSCN0140

And this is what they look like when they were back in skeinlettes.

DSCN0142

DSCN0144

DSCN0145

DSCN0146

I had so much fun and the outcome was better than I expected. Even when I screwed up on a few of my skeinlettes, I decided to over dye the yarn and even the over dyed yarn came out pretty cool, although dark. I don’t have any pictures because it is very difficult to see the true beauty of them in photograph form.

And then last weekend I really took the plunge and dyed a full skein.

DSCN0188

This too was destined to be part of the Sock Yarn Blankets, but it was for my first Dye-It-Yourself Swap

DSCN0191

Now I can’t wait to dye some yarn that I will actual make socks with, and I can see many more dyeing sessions in my future to creating yarn for my Sock Yarn Blanket as well as hand-dyed socks.

One Response to “Dyeing Yarn”

  1. Michelle Says:

    Oh what fun! I love dyeing yarn…it’s addicting I tell ya!


Leave a Reply

