KAL Update

P4121559Here is a progress picture of my KAL sock for the Sock Knitters Anonymous April Sockdown. At first I really didn’t like the pattern, but once I was able to try them on and spread out the lace pattern I found I really do love the pattern. It is a simple pattern to follow so I don’t need to drag the written pattern around with me.

Earlier this week I completed the short-row heels on both socks and when I tried them on I was a little nervous that they would be too short. But instead of frogging back and adding some length I proceeded forward.

Today, after working about 1½” up the leg of one sock I tried it on again and could barely get it over my heel. Once, I got it over my heel I realized that it was in fact too short, and also very tight around my ankle. So both socks have been frogged back to just before the short-row heel. I think I will change the needle size to 2.25 to make them a little looser. Unfortunately, I only have a 2.25 in the Harmony needles and I so much prefer the Nickel plated, so I just placed an order with Knit Picks and will be able to continue with my socks later this week.

Until then I leave you with some additional pictures of this project. Not the best pictures I have taken, but all I have right now.

P4121554 P4121551

5 Responses to “KAL Update”

  1. Michelle Says:

    I just turned a heel and continued up the leg to find out mine was too tight too! I still need to frog mine back.

  2. patti Says:

    Add me to the too-tight-around-the-ankle club. The last pair of toe-ups that I’ve been working on (and designing) have turned out the same way. Some of us have (ahem) thick ankles and this is an issue. I’ll be frogging mine, methinks. sigh.

  3. Lindsay Says:

    Those are gorgeous! It’s amazing how much lace socks change when they get blocked out. I guess that’s true for all lace, but I think maybe because socks are so small that it shows more.

  4. Robin Says:

    Very pretty socks! The colors remind me of a Spring garden!

  5. Sue Says:

    Gorgeous yarn, and the pattern is lovely too!


Leave a Reply

