My First KAL

I started my first KAL today. I joined the Sock Knitters Anonymous Group’s Sockdown for April. I typically don’t join in on KALs because usually I find out about them way after they have started and usually don’t have the time to catch up.

What is nice about this KAL is that it is ongoing and starts every month. I probably wouldn’t have joined it except that I have been spending way to much time on the Ravelry Forums and I have had loads of fun reading about the February and March Sockdown, so I decided to join the fun for April

One of the requirements is that you have to cast on between April 1 and April 30. This was rather difficult for me because I did my swatch over the weekend and I have wanted to cast on ever since. Here is my swatch. I just love the way the colors are blending.

P3281469

Therefore, this morning, bright and early, 7:20 am to be exact, I cast on my first sock. I had under an hour before I had to leave for work, but I did get a few rows done.

It has been somewhat of a crazy morning at work, first thing this morning my boss comes in and tells me about some god-awful virus that was to be released today and I had to stop everything and download the patch to make sure we were covered. Not exactly what I had planned to do this morning, but it turned out to be an exciting little twist to my day.

 P4011532

Because, while I was watching the progress meter go by I got to knit. I did get a few things accomplished that didn’t require the computer, but as you can see at this moment I took the picture it had been over an hour and a half that it had been running. And since most of my job involves the computer I was just about at a standstill so I picked up my knitting and got a few more rows done.

P4011534

Even though at 1 hour 33 minutes the progress meter showed that it was nearly complete, it actually took over 2 hours before it was finally finished scanning. Nevertheless, once the scan was done I had to get back to work. I can’t wait to get home this evening to continue knitting on my socks.

One Response to “My First KAL”

  1. Kathy Says:

    April fool’s virus, no doubt );(
    So good to never be without knitting! The colors do look wonderful.


Leave a Reply

