My Knitting Story

It was about three years ago when I picked up my knitting needles. Prior to this, I had not knit in quite a long time, primarily because I didn’t know any other knitters, and knitting just isn’t as much without knitting friends.  In addition, my friends, at the time, always made fun of me when I knit while they were all drinking, smoking and playing cards. Drinking and smoking were never my scene and I have always like to stay busy, even while playing cards.

The reason I picked up the needles again was because one of my dear friends happen to mention one day that she always wanted to learn to knit, which meant I would have at least one knitting friend. So we embarked on the journey together.

I have since made lots of knitting friends and learned a lot in the process of knitting with other knitters. In addition, over the last three years I have taught at least 5 people to knit and re-introduced knitting to at least three others, and have enjoyed sharing my passion for knitting with my friends and making new friends along the way.

When I first picked up the needles again I was an experienced beginner at best. Although I had known how to knit for many, many years, I had never technically finished a project. I had completed one sweater through seaming, but since I didn’t take the time to do a gauge swatch before embarking on the project, it didn’t fit when I was done.

This leads me to where I am going. Since starting this blog I have wanted to gear it more towards a helpful tool for all knitters. So in the weeks, months, and possibly years to come, in addition to sharing information about my personal knitting, I will be using this blog to post articles about knitting. Everything from where to start to specific techniques. I hope the information I share will be as helpful to you as it has been to me, and if there is anything specific you would like to learn about please feel free to propose a topic.

First on the agenda will be where to start for beginners. Watch for this post in the next week or so.

2 Responses to “My Knitting Story”

  1. Margaret Westerman Says:

    Tina, I look forward to your knitting tips. When I started going to knit night at Caribou, about a year ago, I was amazed at the talent of the knitters there. I remember saying to Lynne that if there was an admissions exam I’d be in trouble.

  2. Kathy Says:

    My mother-in-law and sister-in-laws are big card players and they used to tease me about my knitting, too. I’d never found cards all thay interesting. Then one day, I issued them a challenge. I told them I’d learn to play cards, when they learned to knit! Well, my husband ended up teaching me to play gin… but his mom and sisters never wanted to learn to knit. Funny though, they stopped jeering my knitting. 😉

    I am appreciating and enjoying all of your knowledgeable advice.


Leave a Reply

