Thank Goodness for Husbands

Last night, after finished Happy and in need of a cast-on fix I couldn’t decide which project to start. I got home from work and immediately started reviewing my queue and stash on Ravelry to decide what I wanted to start the most. Two hours later, when Steve got home (he was buying a radial arm saw, yeah I don’t know what it is either) I still had not made up my mind. There are just way to many things I want to make and I already have yarn for many of them. My indecision could have also been related to the fact that I have had what seems to be a head cold (or allergies) for the past few days and maybe I just wasn’t thinking straight. But, I guess I can’t really blame it all on the head congestion because many times in the past I haven’t been able to make up my mind and end up starting three or four new projects. I really don’t want to make a habit of starting doing this every time I have a cast-on attack, but I have yet to prevent it.

So, after 2 hours of deliberation I decided to let Steve pick the next project. I showed him pictures of the projects I already had yarn for and he picked his favorite one, which turned out to be Dollar and a Half Cardigan. He was even happier with his pick when I showed him the yarn I would be using.

 PA090391

Now, after reading a lot of the comments on Ravelry, I have decided that I need to do a lot of swatching before I start this sweater. It seems everyone has done something slightly different than the original pattern called for. Here are some of my options.

  1. Shorten the sleeves
  2. Do stockinette instead of reverse stockinette
  3. Use two different needle sizes, smaller needle size for the stockinette, larger needle for lace
  4. Make two cable fronts
  5. knit complete body at one time up to the arm holes

So even though my hubby helped me make a decision, I still have lots of more decisions to make. Maybe my knitting friends will provide their input to help me decide, because I know hubby will have no clue on this part.

One Response to “Thank Goodness for Husbands”

  1. Larjmarj Says:

    When I ask mine for any input on knitting related stuff he just looks at me like I’ve got 3 heads.


Leave a Reply

