Fitness Friday

I now proclaim Friday blog posts as Fitness Friday. I will devote my Friday posts to my fitness goals and accomplishments, and you can watch for Weigh In Wednesday starting next week.

Therefore, for the first Fitness Friday I will share with you what I have been doing this week. My plan has been to get in two workouts each day, one in the morning and one in the evening after work. You might ask why two workouts a day, and the reason is because sometimes I find it difficult to devote enough time to do a longer workout either in the morning or at night. This way I will get at least 60 minutes of exercise in each day, 30 minutes in the morning and 30 minutes at night. It sounds like a hassle, and it is, but it will all be worth it if I can accomplish my goal to lose 30 lbs.

My main goal this week has been to increase the intensity of my workouts. For the past two years, when I have worked out it has been very casually, and most of the time I barely broke a sweat. I know this is a contributing factor for my weight gain, and if I want to take it off I am going to have to step it up a notch, or two.

This week, I started doing The Firm Workouts again and boy are they killers. So far getting up early to workout has been great. It has been somewhat difficult to keep the intensity up when I have just rolled out of bed, but I have pushed myself to make it work. Although, I did sleep in on Wednesday, which meant I needed to push myself for a longer workout when I got home from work.

With the weighted work of The Firm in the morning, I have decided my evening activity would be more aerobic than weight training, so I have been jog/walking on the treadmill for at least 30 minutes every night. I am not much of a runner, and have been trying to get use to it, but it is a lot harder than it looks. I have started out slow and I am hoping that in a few weeks I will see some improvement in my stamina, because right now it sucks.

In addition, I have also started wearing a heart monitor to make sure I am working at my peak. Or over my peak, Whoops! It is rather interesting to see how quickly your heart rate goes up and comes back down with exertion. I am hoping to get a new heart rate monitor that will also provide an estimated calorie count too.

Plus, my fitness activities don’t end there. I also do random exercises throughout the day at work. Such as, wall squats, push-ups on the desk, triceps dips off the edge of the desk and seated crunches. Not only do they help to get my blood pumping in the afternoon when I could really go for a nap, but they also help to strengthen my muscles.

I am documenting my workout progress as well as my heart rate average during the workouts; and I hope over time I will see improvements which will keep me motivated to maintain my course towards fitness and weight loss.

In addition to documenting my workouts, I have also been documenting my calorie intake to make sure I am not eating too much or too little, and to make sure I am getting all the Daily Recommended Values of vitamins and minerals. I have found in the past, by restricting calories too much it is more difficult to maintain a diet for long periods of time. When I tried to limit my calories to less than 1400 a day I could do it for a day maybe two, but then I would be so hungry that I would binge on the most fattening snack food I could find. This time is going to be different and more controlled. My goal is to eat between 1700-1800 calories a day. At that level I would still have a 500 calorie deficit per day, plus with my workouts, which should provide close to another 500 calories, that would be a 1000 calorie deficit per day, which amounts to 7000 calories per week, or 2 lbs of weight loss, at least in theory.

As of today, I have not seen the scale budge, but I am hoping that will all change come next week when I start Weigh In Wednesday. Stay tuned for the results.

One Response to “Fitness Friday”

  1. Larjmarj Says:

    Good luck! Blogging is probably a good way to keep motivated and on track.


Leave a Reply

