Goals need to be set

Over the past 2½ years, I have packed on the pounds, in fact over 20 pounds. I could go as far as to say that this weight gain isn’t all my fault because I was in a car accident 2½ years ago and I suffered from whiplash, which resulted in me not being able to workout for an extended period. For at least 2 months after the accident I could barely move let alone exercise, and since then I have had a difficult time staying consistent with my diet and exercise.

Technically only 15 months of the past 2½ years can be blamed on the accident, because it took that long for me to be feeling well enough to maintain a consistent exercise program. The problem lies in the fact that after 15 months of doing very little exercise, due to pain, I had adapted to a life style without exercise and staying fit wasn’t as high on my priority list as it once was.

Prior to the accident I religiously exercised 3-5 days a week, sometimes enduring back-to-back classes. In fact, I taught kickboxing and aerobic classes for nearly 14 years and was probably in the best shape of my life. Therefore, after the accident, the thought of not working out was difficult for me to get past. Even with the pain I was in I still wanted to get up and move, which probably played a part in why recovery took so long. Instead of taking a break and letting my body heal I pushed myself to do more than my body was ready for. In hindsight, I wish I had taken my own advice and let my body rest. Nonetheless, the die-hard exerciser in me wouldn’t let that happen.

Now, 2½ years later, I am still paying the price of my stubbornness, but now I finally feel like that can all change. Since the beginning of this year, I have been maintaining a consistent exercise program. By far, I am not working out with the intensity that I once had, but the fact that I am being consistent is the key to being successful with my weight loss, and I am already starting to see the fruits of my labor with the loss of 7 lbs.

In an effort to be more accountable for my actions, I am going to follow the lead of my friend Amby who recently posted a similar tracker on her blog. I am hoping the public knowledge of my weight loss or gain will encourage me to stick to my program and force me to be more diligent in my efforts to take off the weight I have put on. Therefore, here is my current status:

Weight: 153 lbs, down 7 lbs since the beginning of the year
Goal: 125 lbs, or at least the ability to fit in a size 6 again
Deadline: October 2008


One Response to “Goals need to be set”

  1. Amby Says:

    You rock! I know we can do it! 🙂


Leave a Reply

