Oh how I love hand knit socks

Oh how I love thee. Yes, I love hand knit socks, but I don’t seem to wear them as often as I would like. Primarily for the fact that I wear every pair I own, which currently amounts to seven pairs, in about a week’s time and then they sit on my dresser for what seems like weeks before I finally take the time to wash them. I know I am a major procrastinator when it comes to washing my hand knits, and my socks are no exception. I just always seems like I never have enough time to give them the proper washing so I let them sit until I have the time. Okay that is not total true, I also forget they are sitting there until I go to bed each night and in the morning I tell myself I will wash them when I get home from work, but then I forget again and it isn’t until bedtime when I remember once again.

I know non-knitters and even knitters who haven’t knit socks ask the question “why knit socks”. Well, I have to admit I was once in that group. When I first started knitting, the process of knitting socks seemed so overwhelming and I didn’t even want to attempt it in fear that I would totally botch the job. But with a little direction from a LYS and a fabulous book, Sensational Socks, I found my way to loving sock knitting, even on size zero needles.

The first pair of socks I knit, which were on size ones, went a lot quicker than I ever imagined; and I was ready to start a second pair as soon as the first pair was complete. Since then I have had at least one pair of socks on the needles at all times, because socks make for great travel projects.

I like to keep a simple pair of socks on the needles; one that doesn’t take a lot of brain power, so I can easily pick it up and knit a row or two without having to pay a lot of attention to a written pattern. This type of project is great for when you have to take your car in for service and wait for it, or when you are headed to the doctor’s office without a clue how long it will take for the doctor to see you. Doctors seem to have their own time continuum, and it never seems to coincide with the rest of the world. I use to take a book everywhere I went; now I take a pair of socks.

Anyway, a few of my knitting friends were comparing notes the other day about how much sock yarn we have, and I don’t think any of us was really willing to confess to exactly how much yarn was in our stash. In fact, I am going to bet that no one really knew exactly how much sock yarn they had. One lady mentioned that sock yarn does not count as stash, so you can have as much as you like and not feel guilty. As much as I wish this were true, I am finding it hard to convince myself that this is a true fact. The reason being, I have somewhere in the neighborhood of 40 pairs of unknit skeins of sock yarn. At least that was how much I had the last time I took it all out of the bin it is safely stored in to count it, and that was something like 8 months ago. Something tells me that a few more skeins of yarn have found their way into that bin since then. Sock yarn is so easy to buy because you only need 50 grams per sock or a total of 100 grams for a pair. That is 1 to 2 skeins depending on how large the skeins are. I actually think that sock yarn is trained to jump off the shelf and into your basket as you walk by and you don’t even realize it is there until you get to the register. At that point, you may feel embarrassed to say you didn’t really want that yarn and you buy it in lieu of asking the cashier to take it off your bill. Walla, more sock yarn.

Luckily sock yarn doesn’t take up that much space so my husband doesn’t seem to notice when it is multiplying. I just need to start knitting more quickly so I can have more pairs of hand knit socks to wear. Socks, socks, and more socks, I don’t think I will ever have enough.

To date, my favorite sock yarn is Sweet Feet by Hill Country Yarns. I used this yarn to enter a sock contest they were having and after wearing the socks just once, I fell in love with how they feel on my feet. The yarn is a super soft merino wool that seems to sort of felt together on the bottom of your foot as you wear them, making them smoother and smoother on your feet. I can’t wait to make more socks with this yarn. Right now Discount Yarn Sale is having a sale on all their in stock Hill Country Yarn. Go check it out, because for under eight dollars you can have a pair of socks, not including shipping of course.

Posted in Socks, Yarn. 2 Comments »

2 Responses to “Oh how I love hand knit socks”

  1. Michelle Says:

    OH I feel the same way! I tend to prefer simple socks, mainly because they are fast! I do the same thing with washing mine to. I only have 5 pairs right now though!

  2. Lisa Says:

    The yarn I am using to knit Lady Eleanor is Noro Taiyo in colourway 2.

    Number 1 is so nice too!


Leave a Reply

