Curses..

Last week I was saying how much I loved the "Friend’s Blogs" feature on Ravelry, and don’t get me wrong I still love it, but it does become very overwhelming when you are away from your computer for a day or two or five. I came back to nearly 5 pages of updates. And technically I haven’t been away from my computer I have just been extremely busy.

It all started last Wednesday when a friend and I went shopping at Ikea. If you have ever been to the store you know how you can get sucked in and time just flies by and before you know it you have spent more than 3 hours shopping. Okay, in my case window shopping for accessories for the basement, but it still amounted to more than 3 hours. And to top it off we also made stops at a LYS, Target, Joann’s, Circuit City, and Game Stop. Boy was it a busy day, 11 hours of shopping can really tire a girl out.

After 11 hours of shopping on Wednesday, I just couldn’t really get motivated to do much of anything on Thursday. I didn’t even do much knitting.

Friday was another long day, but it was all about knitting. Another friend came over for a marathon knitting session, which have been taking place weekly for a few months now. We knitted and knitted and then knitted some more, and then we made some crochet flowers. I am not one to like crochet garments as much as knitted ones, but I am coming to love crochet flowers. And maybe I am not a crochet convert because I have yet to find crochet patterns that I love as much as knitting, but I do like the change from two needles to one.

The busy schedule didn’t stop there. Saturday brought more shopping, but this time it was for furniture. Steve and I went looking for the seating for the basement. After just two stops we found what we were looking for and we even got a great deal. We scheduled delivery for Wednesday this week, which meant we needed to hurry up and finish some of the projects that were half done, which leads me to Saturday evening and Sunday.

As soon as we got home on Saturday I started working on the basement. Organization was top on my priority list. Steve seems to think that it is easier to just throw things around and wade through the mess than it is to take time out to straighten things up. On the other hand, I can’t function with all the mess, so I felt the need to do some organization and purging of stuff we don’t need in the space, like 3 power drills, 2 electric saws, 3 hammers, left-over laminate boards and underlayment, concrete mix, drywall mud, and god knows what else had accumulated down there. We were being overrun by stuff that was long since needed. Sure I understand you need to have the right tool for the job, but come on, once you are done using it can’t you just put it away. I guess that is why I have a hard time going out to the garage to do anything (that’s Steve’s domain), because everything is always strung all over the place. I know some people function better that way, but I am not one of them and obviously Steve is, and I don’t think either of us are planning to change. Oh well, one can hope.

Once the area was more organized and there was room to work I began the painting process. I had hoped to have all the radiator covers and all the baseboard molding read to paint at one time, but with the rush to finish things up before the furniture arrived I didn’t have that luxury. I did however have the trim on two windows and two bases for my paper racks ready to paint so I felt like I would be somewhat efficient, and I painted, and painted, and painted. In total I painted for twelve hours in two days, and I thought 11 hours of shopping was tiring. Sunday evening I thought my body was going to fall apart. All I could think about was how out of shape I was, and how happy I would be when the basement is fully functional and I could really get my workout program started again.

Needless to say I didn’t have a chance to read any blogs or write one of my own for that matter, and I don’t think this week will be much better. I still have a long list of things I would like to get done, and we are headed back to Ikea this weekend to actually make a purchase. I just hope it doesn’t take us three hours, but Steve is going this time and he will probably want to look around.

I have made some progress on all my projects since the last time showed pictures. If I can find the time today I will take some pictures and post them tomorrow.

2 Responses to “Curses..”

  1. Diane Says:

    Oh Ikea! I’m so jealous! That place can take hours to get through, and the stuff, and then more stuff, and the prices, and more stuff, so much fun! Have fun when you go back! I’ve only been there once and am dying to go back.

    I hear ya on getting behind on blogs and stuff, I’ve been so busy lately, no time to read all the good stuff out there, not even at work, lol!

    Good luck with the basement!

  2. Larjmarj Says:

    I know what you mean about the “friends blogs” feature. Now I find that I sort of have to pick and choose or I spend all of my time blogging and have little time for knitting.


Leave a Reply

