Basement – Almost Finished

If you have been reading my blog for awhile you know we are in the process of updating our basement. The process has taken longer than I would have liked, but the light at the end of the tunnel is now becoming visible. We still have quite a bit of work to do, but I am hoping it will be livable within the next few weeks. The idea is to get the new radiator covers built and the floor molding in place before we purchase the reclining couch and loveseat. After that we are planning to build a few more pieces of furniture to house my yarn stash as well as the mini refrigerator and the coffee maker, and we will also need something to put the big screen TV on when we get it, but those are things that can be done at a leisure pace. Here are some pictures of what the basement looked like as of this morning.

Below is the new exercise area. We will be tweaking this area a little once the radiator covers and baseboard molding are in place, but at least I can get on the treadmill and get a decent workout. With the space redesigned, I am also hoping we will be able to add a new piece of equipment, either a recumbent bike or a elliptical machine, maybe both eventually.
ExerciseArea

Next is the main area of the new family room. See that big box in the middle of the room. That would be the new fireplace we will be placing on the brick wall to the right. With all this cold weather we have been having, I can’t wait to turn it on and to sit mesmerized in front of it knitting.
MainSection

Back in the corner the new crafting area is just about complete; I have even set up my ball winder and swift. There are still a few finishing touches that need to be completed in this area, like painting the window frame and molding, but it is fully functional, although I haven’t done any stamping lately.
CraftingArea

Here is the first of three radiator covers you have heard so much about. My husband is a Woodworking God. It still needs to be painted, but it is just amazing what you can do with a few dollars worth of wood, a saw and a router. Oh and that handy dandy little brad nailer I bought for him with some of my craft sale money.
RadiatorCover2

Check out all those little slits he routered out, I have even started to help out and took my hands to the router this morning and worked on the second radiator cover.
RadiatorCover

Tomorrow, I will give you an update on the current WIPs, and maybe some new projects.

One Response to “Basement – Almost Finished”

  1. Diane Says:

    Some day it will be done. I can’t wait to see it finished and the fireplace in action!


Leave a Reply

