My Stash

I have been on Ravelry since last June, and I have added all my projects and have been keeping track of all the new projects I have started, but I have yet to log any of my stash yarn. Every time I think of doing it, it just seems too overwhelming. I think to myself that I really should log it all so instead of having to open some 25 plastic bins to look at all the yarn I have, I can just login to Ravelry to see everything in one place. What a concept.

So my plan is, over the next few weeks (and it will probably take me that long to get through it all) I will log in my stash yarn and assigning it to projects if one has already been determined. Maybe all the documentation will keep me from buying any more yarn, at least until I use up some of what I already have. YEAH RIGHT!

I started today with some yarn that I purchased because the price was so unbelievable and too good to pass up. I marked most of it as trade or sell only because if someone really needs it for a project and I have yet to determine what I will make with it I would be willing to let it go to a good home.

Another project I hope to have fully updated is my list of knitting books on Ravelry, which brings me to another feature that I found recently, “You’ve used” and “Need for your Queue”, another great concept. So if my husband ever complains about all the knitting books I can show him that I am really using them and not just stockpiling unused books.

Posted in Yarn. 4 Comments »

4 Responses to “My Stash”

  1. Diane Says:

    ahhhhhhh, the saga of logging in stash, ughhh, it takes forever. I don’t have nearly the amount of stash that some have, some of it I’m not bothering to put in, and when I buy new I try to add it within a day or two. Just take a deep breath and do a little at a time.

  2. Miranda Says:

    25 bins?! My one lonely bin is admittedly jealous. It wishes it wasn’t isolated in a closet, holding mostly leftover balls of miscellaneous yarns. šŸ˜‰

  3. Larjmarj Says:

    That’s a good idea, maybe it’ll keep me from buying more also! I have to admit though that I did the same thing today. One of my fav LYS’s was having a really good sale and I had to get some of this really cool handspun looking natural yarn. I bought 3 skiens the other day and I bought 3 more today.

  4. Robin Says:

    Man! Me, Too! I started a while back and had so much problem getting the photos to upload that I quit. I’m kinda afraid that I’ll blowup the database or something equally as terrible if I upload all my stash on there. How time consuming to get dozens and dozens of containers of yarn out and go through each one skein by skein…… I’m exhausted just thinking about it!


Leave a Reply

