Brown Ribbed Sweater

Have you ever had a project that just seemed to hang in limbo on the needles? You found the project was more complicated than you anticipated, the yarn too difficult to work with, or you just lost interest in the project. I am sure most knitters have experienced this. Maybe not those who typically only do one project at a time, or those who don’t have a yarn stash, but we all know those knitters are few and far between. Although, I do envy them, and wish I had that sort of self-control.

Well, I too have UFO’s that have been around longer than I would have liked. I have only been knitting for about 2 years, but when you have a UFO that has been 85% done for more than a year why not just finish it, which is exactly what I set out to do.

I started the Brown Ribbed Sweater in December 2006, and worked on the project regularly for several months. During the same time period I also worked on and finished a lot of other projects, but could not bring myself to finish this one.

WIP_Sweater_sleeves_02_19_07

I had finished both the front and back pieces, and was working on the sleeves when I came across an error with the pattern. I knew I could easily figure out how to correct the pattern mistake by simply lining up the front and back with the sleeves, but at the time it just seemed like too much work and I had so many other projects I would rather work on. So the project was sent into hibernation, where it stated for many, many months.

Once all the gift knitting was done after the holidays I vowed to myself to finish up a few of the UFOs on my needles before starting yet another project. And sometimes we just need the right motivation to do that, so I went out and bought yarn for a scarf project I have been wanting to make, and I told myself I couldn’t start that project until the sweater had been completed, including the seams and the weaving in of the ends.

I have kept that fabulous pink yarn next to me so I can be reminded of the fun that awaits me once I finish the sweater and it has been great motivation. I haven’t even allowed myself to knit up the gauge swatch, because I know once I get the yarn in my hands I will want to keep right on working with it. So I have looked at it and pet it every now and then and kept right on trucking with the sweater.

PinkYarn

Now, after more than a year in the making and a slight hiccup with the pattern, the brown ribbed sweater is nearly complete. With only a few seams to sew up this sweater will be complete in the next day or so, and I am so happy to finally get it off the needles, and even happier to be able to start the pink scarf project. Here is how the sweater looks today.

BrownRibbedSweater_011508

Now don’t get me wrong, the sweater isn’t the only UFO I have been working on. I have also been trying to get the Yummy Watermelon socks completed too. These were started in August 2007, when my friend, Miranda, from knitting club dyed some yarn for me. I love these colors and couldn’t wait to make some socks with them.

When I started this project I was planning on making long socks, or knitting until I ran out of yarn, but while trying them on just after the heel I realized I really like them as short little anklet socks. Now, they have been finished and I have yet another pair of hand knit socks.

YummyWatermelonSocks_011508

I have also been working away on the Lorna’s Laces Motherlode socks. I am ready to do the short-row heel on one and working up the foot on the other.

MotherLodeSocks_121807

3 Responses to “Brown Ribbed Sweater”

  1. Diane Says:

    I love those socks! Such a pretty color. Can’t wait to see the sweater when it is completed. That new yarn looks gorgeous. I do the same thing, keep pretty yarn in sight to motivate me to finish whatever I want to be done and over with.

  2. Larjmarj Says:

    I have 2 hibernating UFO’s one I am probably going to take to the frog pond. I am really pushing to get going on the Mr. Greenjeans. I don’t want it to become the never ending project.

  3. Miranda Says:

    I love seeing how other people’s projects come out in my hand dyed. Those socks look great!!


Leave a Reply

