Basement Redesign

Ever since I have been unemployed I have been watching a lot of daytime TV, and it isn’t the daytime TV you might think. I have been watching all the home improvement shows on HGTV and DIY Network. If you don’t have these stations in your area you are really missing out. The improvement shows run just about back to back all day on HGTV and in one day alone I see so many different things I would like to incorporate into my own home. It is just too bad you can’t really remodel an entire room in 30 minutes, because my whole house would be changed almost daily.

About a month ago I got this idea in my head to convert the basement from 85% craft room/15% exercise room, to 15% exercise room/15% craft room/70% family/TV room. I have wanted another room where we could a couch and TV, and since I wasn’t going to convert our bedroom the only other option was the basement. This meant that I needed to consolidate my crafting supplies into a space a fraction of the size, which also meant I needed to get rid of a lot of stuff. And let me tell you it felt so good to get rid of stuff I haven’t touched in years. We have lived in this house for over 3 years and some of the stuff hasn’t been used since before we moved in. It was all so organized I didn’t realize I had so much stuff. I was able to sell almost all of it with an online Garage Sale, and it was the most perfect thing. I posted pictures of everything I had for sale and alerted all my stamping, scrapbooking, and knitting friends to take a peak and let me know if they wanted to buy anything. I had everything priced to sell and it went quickly.

Here are just a few pictures of what my room looked like before I started tearing everything apart.

P7190019

P7190024

P7190025

P7190023

Leave a Reply

