Blogging, Family and Knitting

Being unemployed you would think that I could update my blog more often, but it is just amazing how busy I have been since being laid off. In addition to not updating my own blog, I also haven’t been reading blogs either, which means that I haven’t been keeping up on what all my blogging friends have been up too. This is the biggest bummer of all because I really feel as if I get to know the people who’s blogs I read on a regular basis.

Although I haven’t been writing about knitting, I have been knitting a lot. In the past three weeks I have completed a number of projects, including Tomato, a test knit for Jae, Wallaby for my nephew Chace, and I am just about finished with another secret project. I have also progress on my current sock projects, but I have been so busy with the others that the socks have taken a back seat to the rest.

Here are some pictures of the finished objects that I can share with you. Obviously I can’t share the secret project, and the test knit is still a work in progress, so to speak, so I have for you Tomato and Wallaby. You can read about all the details of both of these projects on Ravelry.com, user ID BloomingKnitter.

Tomato

Chase_Wallaby

I absolutely love how Tomato turned out and I adore the yarn, which is Knit Picks Main Line. I think I have mentioned before that I will definitely be using this yarn for other projects in the future. Wallaby is also becoming another favorite pattern. This one is for my nephew Chace and I will be making another one for his twin sister Taylor.

I was able to see Chace and Taylor recently when I went for a visit the last week in September. It is amazing how quickly children grow and advance. I saw them last November when they were only 5 months old, now they are just over a year old and they are now walking and talking and have developed their own personalities. My sister really lucked out with these two because they are such good kids, and she is a single mom. Although she does have two other children who are 14 and 11 and they really help out a lot. And I am such a dope because I didn’t get any pictures of Britney and Cassidie while I was there. Here are Taylor and Chace.

Taylor_Chace

While visiting my mom, my knitting to-do list grew by leaps and bounds. I had been thinking about knitting the Wallaby sweater for the twins, but I didn’t have the pattern and being short on extra spending money I hadn’t looked for it or even thought about ordering it. But while I was visiting my mom we went to a few of the knitting stores in her area and I found the pattern and bought it. I was going to make the Wallaby for my nieces Britney and Cassidie also but they didn’t take a liking to it so they will get Felted Clogs instead. My mom even surprised me and ordered all the yarn for the slippers, which really helped out since fun money is at a minimum right now.

Since I have been home, actually just in the last two days, I have been doing a lot of rubber stamping. I use to be a consultant for Close To My Heart, but in May I decided to devote my time to knitting instead, so since then I haven’t done much stamping, but found that I have really missed it. Like knitting I to tend to be a hoarder of supplies so I have plenty to keep me busy for a very long time, but so far I have only been completing card kits that were previously made up for workshops. Needless to say I have finished an enormous amount of cards in the past two days and I plan to stamp more today as well. Hopefully later this week I will have all the kits completed and I can start creating new designs.

This week I hope to catch up with all my blogging friends, and I hope everyone has a great week. Hopefully I will have another post before the week is out.

5 Responses to “Blogging, Family and Knitting”

  1. Larjmarj Says:

    The Tomato looks great and you look great wearing it!!!
    I am still waiting for my ravelry invite, I’m excited and dreading it at the same time!

  2. Larjmarj Says:

    The Tomato looks great and you look great wearing it!!!
    I am still waiting for my ravelry invite, I’m excited and dreading it at the same time!

  3. Larjmarj Says:

    The Tomato looks great and you look great wearing it!!!
    I am still waiting for my ravelry invite, I’m excited and dreading it at the same time!

  4. Amby Says:

    Wow, Tomato looks fab! I love the colors! And what a wonderful picture of you too!!!

  5. Miranda Says:

    that shade of red looks great on you!


Leave a Reply

