Stash or Not to Stash

If you read my blog a few weeks ago you would have seen a post for the World’s Largest Yarn Stash, which was quite massive. If you missed the post scroll back to July and take a gander, I am sure you will be impressed.

As I mentioned on Tuesday, I have been contemplating whether I want to have a stash or just buy yarn for my next project. I have to tell you that I do currently have a stash and I am quite happy that I do, since I will be unemployed in a few weeks and won’t have any disposable income in which to purchase yarn. So at least I will still have yarn to knit up. But the thought of not having projects hanging over my head sounds so appealing. I have been Stacy’s Blog at Very Pink for a few months now and it is quite incredible that she does not have a stash, or a very small one, and she only knits one thing at a time. And as great as that sounds, I have always thought it would be impossible to do, because every time I find a pattern I want to knit I feel the need to run out and buy the yarn just in case it is discontinued before I get around to knitting the project.

I know it seems insane, but so far I have had a tendency to purchase only the yarn the pattern calls for and haven’t had the nerve to think outside the box. But now that Ravelry exists, and I can look at what everyone else is using for the same project I don’t feel as intimidated. In fact, I took a sweater designing class a few months ago I feel even more confident choosing a different yarn than the pattern calls for or even a completely different gauge. So now I don’t feel so compelled into rushing out to the LYS the moment I find a pattern I love. I just need to make sure I buy the book, magazine or pattern so I have it when I decide actually knit the project.

The only real problem I see with this is that if I finish a project at 2:00 am I can’t immediately cast-on for the next project. Okay so that really isn’t realistic, because if you know me you know I am typically in bed by 9:30, 10:00 at the latest, but I do get up bright and early with the birds. So let me rephrase that, if I finish a project at 7:00 pm, when the yarn stores are already closed for the night, I can’t immediately cast-on for the next project. And what if I finish the project at 6:00 pm on Saturday and the LYS is closed until Monday, and I have to work on Monday and can’t get to the yarn store until after work. Oh No! I don’t know if I could do it, I am getting hives just thinking of the possibility. It would drive me absolutely crazy wondering if the yarn store will have the yarn I am looking for in the color that I want.

No, No, No! I know I would not be able to do it. I think I will always have to have a stash that would consist of at least 2-3 projects waiting to be started.

I am glad that has been resolved. Let’s never talk of this again.

2 Responses to “Stash or Not to Stash”

  1. jae Says:

    I was starting to get panicked just reading your post. Perhaps we should come up with emergency knit kits for just such a yarn shortage emergency. You know, just in case. 🙂

  2. Miranda Says:

    I work primarily on 1 or 2 projects at a time, otherwise I would never get anywhere on them! I also only keep a small stash, although I honestly rarely tap into it because it’s mostly random skeins.


Leave a Reply

