One or More?

I have been debating a few things about my knitting lately. The first being whether to work on multiple projects at the same time or to cast-on one at a time and work only that one project until it is complete, not including the traveling socks. Just about every knitter I know does something a little different and it is all a matter of preference, but the thought of completing a new project every few weeks just makes me all warm inside.

Since January, when I first discovered the world of fiber at my LYS, I have completed a number of projects, but the progress seems to have gone very slowly towards completion because I have been working on multiple projects at the same time. The great thing about doing it this way is that I get work on each WIP a little at a time and I don’t have time to get bored with any of the projects. Then all of a sudden I am completing 2, 3, or 4 projects within days of each other. I have to admit that is great fun, but the problem I see with that is that for a long time I don’t have any FO to show on this here blog.

So what I am going to attempt, and I say attempt because I am not sure if I will be able to stick to it, is to work on just one project at a time until it is completed. That is to say once I complete my current round of projects, which should be very soon. I know there will be times when I find I don’t like the yarn as much as I expected, or that the pattern isn’t very interesting or inspiring, but I tend to be a finisher. What I mean by that is, I have this compulsive tendency to complete everything even if I don’t think there is a chance in hell that I am going to actually like the FO or wear it for that matter. I figure there is always the possibility of giving the FO as a gift or donating it to a charity, because the fact still remains that I had the joy of knitting it and that is what counts most. RIGHT!

The second thing I have been contemplating is to stash or not to stash, that is the question, which will come in a later post.

The status update on the current projects, Green Gable is done and about to be blocked; the pieces of the Knitted Top with Cable are done and just need to be blocked and assembled. I would like to finish the Brown Ribbed Sweater before I start another project, but I am not sure I will be motivated to do that since I still won’t be able to wear it for a few more months. I also started a secret project, but it is a quick knit and should be completed by the end of the week as well. And don’t forget about my socks, which by the way don’t count in the one project until complete plan, but my goal is to not have more than two pairs of socks in the works at any one time. The socks haven’t had much progress in the last few days because I have been focused on finishing the sweaters.

I will have pictures of both sweaters as soon as they are wearable.

Leave a Reply

