Security Alarm

There are some disadvantages to being one of the top ranking employees in the company and only living a little over a mile from the office. One being, you are the first person called when the security alarm is tripped at the office, which is exactly what happened last night.

I was following my normal schedule and was in bed at 9:00 pm and asleep there soon after, but at a few minutes after 10:00 pm I was jolted from my sleep when the phone rang. You know how it is went you are startled awake, I was groggy and not that coherent, but I answered the phone to find out that the security alarm had been tripped at the office and the police were on their way over there. And of course they wanted me to be there as well.

So I had to get dressed and shot over there as quickly as I could. Before I got off the phone with them they asked me what type of car I would be driving so they could tell the police. In my sleep walking state I told them the make and color of my car, but had forgotten that my car was in the shop for body repairs and I would be driving the rental. Unfortunately I didn’t realize my mistake until Steve reminded me of that fact after I got off the phone. I thought oh great I am going to get there and the police are going to think I am the burglar.

Anyway, I jumped in the car and start towards work. Opps, I forgot the keys to the building, and I guess I will need those, so I had to turn around and go back. When I finally got there 10 minutes later I was fairly certain that the people in the building where the cleaning crew, but not being 100 percent certain I decided that I wasn’t going to enter the building alone. I called the security monitoring company back and let them know I was at the building and I wasn’t driving my car. I also wanted to find out when the police would arrive. They assured me the police would arrive any minute. So I waited, and waited and waited, for like 30 minutes.

At that point, I was getting frustrated because I really wanted to go back to bed. I made another call to the security company and they called the police department to see what was taking so long. Come to find out in the 10 minutes it had taken me to get to the building they had come and gone. They said they would send someone out again because according to the security company the alarm was still going off.

Needless to say, it took another 10 minutes for the police to show up and just as we were getting out of the car to go in the cleaning crew exited the building.

So all was good, but I lost about 2 hours of sleep, because even though I got back to my bed within an hour of being rudely woken up, I was still coming down from that adrenaline rush that happens when you are startled awake unexpectantly.

Leave a Reply

