Projects, Family, Knitting and Reading

This weekend flew by. It was filled with projects around the house, errands, visiting time with my soon to be father-in-law (who had an emergency quadruple bi-pass last week), knitting, and reading. It makes me tired just thinking about all the stuff we did this weekend.

As many of you know, we have been preparing for a very special party at our house next weekend. I just never imagined that we would have so much to do. It seems like once we get one project completed we think of ten other things we want to do. I almost got Steve talked into putting in a small fish pond at the corner of the deck, which might happen later this summer, but will not be done for the party next weekend. We also have plans to put in some pavers in the back corner of our yard, but that too will have to wait until later this summer or next year.

I didn’t have much time for knitting, but I did squeeze in a few hours on Saturday. I am taking a 5 week sweater designing class and this weekend was week number two. During class I worked on the simple stockinette stitch toe-up socks, I didn’t want anything to distracting during the class. I also did a few rows on my socks pattern socks. I didn’t get too much done on either one of them, but I did make a little bit of progress.

Friday night and Saturday I spent my time sewing curtains for my living room. Now mind you, sewing is not my forte, but I was able to accomplish my goal of completing the curtains. They came out quite nicely if I do say so myself (as long as you don’t look to closely at them). I didn’t follow a pattern; I engineered them based on the ratty curtains that were in the house when we moved in. I also lined the curtains with blackout lining so it would be nice and dark during the day, making it conducive to watching movies without having to worry about the glare on the TV screen. After completing the first panel I decided to re-engineer my design. It seems that I tend to do that with my knitting too, after I try something I find a better way to do it. I guess I am like that when it comes to life in general. Anyway, at some point, hopefully this week, I will redo that first panel to match the others. Luckily I have plenty of extra material, just like yarn I tend to buy way more than I need.

Saturday evening Steve and I spent three hours putting up our new gazebo. It was a lot of work, but boy is it nice. It has mosquito screens all around and we will be putting up lights tonight. The furniture won’t be arriving until Wednesday, but we moved the swinging bench in there so we could enjoy it right away. 

Although I thought I was done with the yard work there was more to be done this weekend. I decided I had better cover the ground around my new plants with mulch, so Sunday morning I was out spreading 3 bags of mulch, only to find that I was two bags short. That stuff just doesn’t go as far as you might think. We picked up two more bags last night, but I just wasn’t in the mood to get dirty again, so that will be this evening’s project.

We spend a few hours on Friday and Sunday visiting with Steve’s step dad, who was admitted to the hospital last Tuesday for observation and then proceeded to have a quadruple bi-pass on Thursday. The doctors where quite surprised that he didn’t have a massive heart attack because 3 of the four arteries were almost completely blocked and the other was well on its way. Prior to the surgery they thought they would only have to do a triple bi-pass, but once they got in there they determined that all four had to be done. He is recovering rather quickly for a man of 70 years. There is a good chance they will be sending him home today.

I know it must seem like every second was taken up with the projects, errands and other stuff that we accomplished this weekend, but I still had time to take up reading again. A few weeks ago Miranda mentioned a Paperback Book Swap website that had me intrigued. I use to love to read. It seemed that I was always reading a book, but when I went back to school, a few years ago, I had so much school reading to do that I didn’t have much time for casual reading, and it has been quite some time since I have picked up a novel for fun. Needless to say, this weekend I found time to finish a book that I started many moons ago, start and finish another, and start a third. I also rounded up all the books I have read (which actually wasn’t many because last year we gave most everything to Purple Heart or sold it a a garage sale), and joined the Paperback Book Swap. Thanks for sharing that, Miranda. So far I have only posted three books, so I don’t have any credits to get more, but if all goes well I will keep reading in my life and will have more to post really soon. I currently have a few shelves of books in my library which I have had for years, but haven’t had the opportunity to read.

This week, more projects errands and such to get ready for the party. Hopefully, no more yard work, except for spreading those two bags of mulch. Family and other helpers will be arriving on Friday to help with the final preparations. We can’t wait, it will be a load of fun.

2 Responses to “Projects, Family, Knitting and Reading”

  1. Dana Says:

    Right, since I suck at the RSVP’ing thing, I’m doing it now. I will be there, sorry for the late notice. Good luck getting all your chores done in time!!

  2. Larjmarj Says:

    Wow, you HAVE been busy! Can’t wait to see pics of everything.


Leave a Reply

