Chock-ful-of-knitting

I said there was going to be lots of knitting this weekend and there was. As I mentioned last week, I took Friday off and I started out the day by finishing my second pair of socks. I only had to do the kitchener stitch to finish them off so it didn’t take me very long.

SecondSocks_052007 

Then for pretty much the rest of Friday I was experimenting with different stitches for the sock pattern I am working on for the Hill Country Sock Pattern contest. I started by graphing out a few different ideas and then I knit them up to see how I liked them. I think I finally found something I like and it is easily changed for different sizes.

On Saturday, I attended a crafting day with about 15 other ladies. Most everyone else was working on scrapbook pages or stamping cards, but of course I was knitting. After working on my third pair of socks with striped cables, I completed the assembly of the Roll The Dice Bag.

CableStripedSocks_052007 

RollTheDiceBag_b4felting_052007 

The bag still needs to be felted, which I hope to do tonight.

After finishing the Roll the Dice bag I got right to work on my French Market Bag, which was also near completion. I just had to complete the handles and graft them together. This bag is also completed except for felting.

FrenchMarketBag_b4felting_052007 

One thing that I didn’t work on this weekend, but should have was the baby sweater I am making for a friend’s new baby. Since it is still in pieces I give you small little taste of it with the pattern. I will probably focus my attention on this for the remainder of the week in hopes that I can finish it up to give to her in two weeks.

BabySweaterPattern_052007

It is a simple moss stitch, but it really turned out nice. I am even considering making myself a simple cardigan using this pattern and the same yarn, it is very light and would make a great spring or fall sweater.

The other projects that I also have on the needles but didn’t work on this weekend are the Brown Ribbed Sweater and the other felted bag that I knitted up on the sweater machine. I did work on the Brown Ribbed Sweater last week at knitting club, but the felted bag has been tucked away for quite some time. I started seaming up the bag a month or so ago, but haven’t like how it was coming out so I stopped. After seaming up, ripping out and seaming up the Roll the Dice bag 4 times this weekend I finally found a method that I like and I think I will also use it for this bag too. Which means there is going to be some ripping of the seam before I can make some more progress on this bag.

Needless to say I am well on my way to finishing up with my WIPs. Three down and four more to go. Okay, five if you count the pink sweater I started in January, but haven’t touch since. I have been thinking about just frogging it, but I just can’t bring myself to do it. I will probably pick it up and work on it ever so often to finish it off, but who knows at this point. Or 6 if you count the socks, which I haven’t started for the pattern contest. Even so I have made some great progress this weekend, and I am feeling pretty good about it.

I even knit for most of the day on Sunday, but I don’t have much to show for it because it was all practice knitting, which we all need every once and awhile. I was working on the construction for my sock pattern. Having only done a short row heel once before I wanted to practice and determine exactly how I wanted it to look. Although I was able to complete a short row heel without a problem, I didn’t like how it was turning out so I kept trying different things until I got exactly what I was looking for. Then I had to write it out with enough detail so that anyone knitting the pattern would get the exact same result that I did. I took me at least 6 tries, but I am glad that I took the time to test it out. It was actually fun trying different things without feeling as if I was doing something wrong.

Hopefully there will be more knitting for me tonight. Steve and I have been saving up the episodes of Lost, Medium, 24, and Heroes so that we could watch the last few episodes of the seasons back to back. So this week will be jam packed with TV since some of the season finales are this week.

One Response to “Chock-ful-of-knitting”

  1. Sarah Says:

    I will be back to see how the felted bags turned out. They look great!


Leave a Reply

