Birthday Fun

Okay, so my birthday was Monday, and I got lots of knitting goodness. By the way, don’t ask me how old I am, not because I don’t want anyone to know, but because I can never remember half the time. Recently I was at a doctors appointment for a physical and the doctor asked me how old I was I told her 34. She looked at me then looked at the computer and said that the computer says you are 35. I looked at her with a puzzled look on my face and said, I guess I am 35. So I guess I am now 36, although I still feel 25. The way I look at it is that you are only as old as you feel, RIGHT!

Okay, so on to the knitting goodness. Awhile back I decided to set up an Amazon.com wish list, and it was probably the best thing I could have done, because for my birthday I got two new books and a gift certificate.

Elizabeth Zimmermann's Knitter's AlmanacElizabeth Zimmermann's Knitting Workshop

Steve got me these two of the books that where on my wish list, Elizabeth Zimmermann’s Knitter’s Almanac and Knitting Workshop. I just recently read about these two books and added them to my wish list. I am currently reading Elizabeth Zimmermann’s Knitting Without Tears and now I am looking forward to reading these two books next.

My mom also sent me an Amazon.com gift certificate. She told me that after looking through everything that I wanted she just couldn’t decide what to get, so she sent the gift certificate. Now I have the same problem, I can’t decide either. I have so many books on my wish list that I can’t decide what books to get first. So I plead for your help, let me know what knitting books are in your library that you can’t live without. You can also check out my wish list and make your recommendations. I have put a direct link on the side bar for your convenience.

By the way, I have been knitting. I have been meaning to take some pictures of my works in progress, but every day when I get home from work I get right to knitting and always forget to take pictures. Then I remember the next day when I am at work and promise myself that I will take some pictures at lunch, but then I forget again. I guess I am getting very forgetfull in my old age.

Anyway, I have been working on the little baby jacket for a friend of mine, who’s baby was born a few weeks ago. It is almost finished. I have completed all the pieces now I just need to assemble it and do the detailed trim. I am also working on some little matching socks. I am trying to create the pattern as I go and it hasn’t worked out as I expected. Does anyone know the length of a baby’s foot? I am so glad I got the sock pattern wizard software. I would have no clue what size to make the dang sock. I hope to have both of these projects finished by the end of the week.

I still have not done the kitchener stitch on the socks that I completed a few weeks ago. What is holding me up, I just don’t know. I guess I should get that done soon too. I have also been working on my sock pattern for the Hill Country Sock Pattern Contest. I thought I had my stitch design all worked out, but I have decided to change it up a bit so I have been doing more swatches to see what I like.

I have also done some work on the Roll the Dice Felted Bag that I mentioned back in March. I have finished the body of the bag, and started to sew up the bottom. I don’t really like how it is coming out so I think I will rip out the seam and start again. After that all I have left to do is the handles.

I am also almost finished with my French Market Bag. I am very close to the top of the bag, I think a few more rows should do it, then I will do the handles and felt it.

Then there is the almost forgotten Brown Ribbed Sweater. This sweater has sort of been put on the back burner because the weather is warming up and I probably won’t be able to wear it until fall. I haven’t worked on this project in more than a month, maybe longer.

With so many projects on the needles I am starting to get frustrated that nothing is getting finished, so my plan for the next few weeks is to finish up all these projects before I begin another one. I so want to start my Wicked, which will be the short sleeve version, so I am hoping that this desire will propel me to finish these other things so I can get started.

I hope to have some FO by the end of the week, because who wants to see a WIP when they can be surprised and see the FO.

Posted in Books. 4 Comments »

4 Responses to “Birthday Fun”

  1. Miranda Says:

    Happy belated birthday! Making any kind of decisions on amazon is always very hard. I’m ashamed with my behavior in slacking off from my knitting after reading your WIP list. hehe

  2. Miranda Says:

    I just looked at your amazon wishlist. I have Weekend Knits if you ever want to borrow it! Also, I checked out the Twisted Sisters sock book at the library once and it had lots of great info on dyeing! Just my $.02!

  3. Amby Says:

    Vogue Knitting: The Ultimate Knitting book is an EXCELLENT resource, and one I think should be in every knitter’s library. Twisted Sisters is great if you want to get into dyeing (lots of info) or spinning (not as much info).

  4. jae Says:

    Happy birthday!! Just concentrate on one project for a while. That will take care of the feeling that you aren’t making progress. I can’t wait to see your Hill Country socks.


Leave a Reply

