Knitting Books

Lately, I have been obsessed with buying knitting books. Some books I have bought because someone else recommended it, or because I like the cover, or because it looks like something I would get a lot of use out of. Most of these books I have purchased online through Amazon.com, Barnesandnoble.com, or Crafterschoice.com. Which means many times I haven’t had a chance to flip through the book before buying it, but I figured there would be some interesting or new information enclosed and no matter what I would get something out of it.

When the book arrives I typically flip through it, looking at all the different patterns, and I dream of making some of them. Then the book will immediately goes into my bookcase. Sometimes, if the book is really amazing, I leave it on my coffee table for a few more days and flip through it a couple more times before it finds it’s home in my bookcase.

So far I haven’t found time to actually read the books I have purchased, except one, but that is all going to change. One of my goals is to actually read the knitting books I have before I purchase any more. Okay, so that probably won’t happen because there is bound to be a great book released before I can get through the 30 or so knitting books I already have, but I am going to certainly try.

Now mind you, I am not planning on actually reading the patterns, just the introduction and the front part of the book, which gives different tips and special techniques that are included in the book. At least that is my assumption of how a knitting book is laid out, it is based on the one and only knitting book that I have actually taken the time to read, which is "KnitWit" by Amy Singer.

I decided to purchase this book because when I first met my friend Amanda, from knitting club, she had started making a sweater from this book. She has since abandoned it for more socks, but that is beside the point. I secretly hope she starts knitting on it again soon, because I really would like to see it when it is completed.

Anyway, I got a quick glance at the pattern from across the room, but at the time I was to shy to ask if I could look through the book. So I bought the book myself. I know many people would probably be very happy to loan out their book when they aren’t using it. But, I just have to have my very own copy. Those of you who know me, know I don’t share well with others. When I find something that I like I don’t want to just borrow someone else’s I must have one for myself. And I typically don’t like to loan out my books, rubber stamps or anything else that I might want to use the moment it walks out the door. I do, by the way, share very well, when the object to be shared stays within my reach, because you just never know when inspiration is going to strike. 

Okay, so the real point of this post was to actually tell you what I liked about this book "Knitwit", but I have swayed from my course. So let’s get back to that.

This book is great for any level of knitting skill. Even some of the beginner patterns are so cool, that advanced knitters will want to take a break from their elaborate projects to whip up a quick and simple one. The author has included some basic knitting information in the front of the book for someone who is just getting started. Having already known how to knit before reading this book I don’t know if it contains everything a knitter must know, but at least it will get you through the projects in the book. By the way, I am not sure it is possible for a knitter to know everything about knitting, because so many new things are being invented every day. Anyway, I am getting off topic again.

I found the book to have a great layout, with a built in A-frame stand so you could prop the book up on a table while you knit, or just for display purposes. One thing I found interesting is that it showed you some ball bands and how to read them. I guess I am a real ditz when it came to choosing yarn and I always got confused with all those symbols and charts. They try to include so much information on the little ball band that it can get jumbled together and difficult to understand, especially if you are a novice knitter and don’t know any better.

So whether you are a new knitter or one who has been knitting for many year I recommend this book. Not that my recommendation is going to make you go out and buy it, but maybe you will think about it.

I would love to hear what knitting books you are reading and what you think about them, because I need more knitting books.

Posted in Books. 2 Comments »

2 Responses to “Knitting Books”

  1. Miranda Says:

    knitting books are like crack!

  2. Mom Says:

    Thanks for the info about “Knitwit.” I hven’t see this book but plan on looking for it.


Leave a Reply

