Stuff

I know I have started making a habit of only posting once a week, and I am sorry about that, but who wants to read about my boring life anyway. I know you are mostly here for the knitting.

I am the Kitchener stitch away from finishing my second pair of socks, the pair of socks that I started on two circular needles, but decided to complete using the magic loop, which I absolutely love. The socks fit perfectly. I was a little concerned when I tried them on before decreasing for the toe, because they seemed a little loose, but as it turns out they will fit great. The only thing I wish is that I could have made the leg longer. I had plenty of extra yarn, but having not used this yarn before I had no clue how much would be needed to completed the sock. Needless to say if I had been doing these socks toe up I could have had a better idea.

Speaking of toe up socks, I have been working with different ways to complete toe up socks in my attempts to create a sock pattern for the Hill Country Yarn Sock Pattern Contest. I have found that I love the figure 8 cast-on and what I think is called a short-row heel. Attempting to create this pattern has been the best thing I could have done, because it has forced me to experiment with different techniques and styles, and I have found what I like and don’t like about each element of the sock. The only bad part about it is that I have been using crappy yarn for my trial and error, which means that I won’t be able to use it for anything. But I can’t bring myself to use good yarn because of the fear of having to rip it out 100 times and eventually ruining the yarn. So I will stick with the scrap practice yarn for this even though it will be totally worthless in the end.

So do you really want to know about my boring life. Well, I can’t even remember what I did on Saturday, which means that it must have been just about nothing. Sunday, Steve and I spent some time in the backyard working on projects. I finally planted 9 flats of flower seeds. I have never done this before and I had no clue what I was doing. I don’t even know if I had the right soil mixture, but I gave it a go and we will see in a few weeks how it all turns out. A gardener friend of mine told me she has never had luck with seeds, so I don’t know why I think I would, because I have the farthest thing from a green thumb. But seeds are cheap and when you are saving your money for yarn you have to find other areas to cut costs.

After we completed our respective projects, Steve’s was to cut deck boards, we took the motorcycles out for a nice ride. It was a really beautiful day and we enjoyed being out on the bikes. The only problem was we were also doing errands so after about 2.5 hours we were both ready to go home and relax, which we did for the rest of the afternoon and into the evening. We even sat on our deck enjoying the fantastic weather. I got to knit on my sock pattern and we chatted with each other and the neighbors. It was so nice to be outside. I love spring.

2 Responses to “Stuff”

  1. jae Says:

    You will be quite an experienced sock knitter after your hard work! I can relate to “worthless” yarn. I knit almost a whole skein’s worth of swatches before I get started on my final design pattern. Sometimes I think it’s a waste, but I know Murphy’s law would step in if I tried to cheat by diving right in.

  2. Mom Says:

    Sounds like the sock pattern is getting there. Good luck. Although you might have a number of knitting books, you can always use another one, especially if it has some good information in it or a unique pattern. Sounds like your motorcycle ride was relaxing and fun. Good luck with the seeds!!! One year I planted over 100 seeds and none came up!!! (I planted them too deep.)


Leave a Reply

