I must be stinkin’ CRAZY

I have entered the Hill Country Yarn “Sock Pattern Contest”! Am I nuts???? What was I thinking, I have never created my own pattern before, socks or otherwise. For that matter I have only completed one pair of socks and that was about 2 months ago, currently working on my second pair. I know I will love making socks and ever since becoming a part of the world of knitting, some 3 months ago, I have known I want to eventually create my own patterns, but nothing like jumping in with both feet. At least this way I am forced to give it a try, and hopefully my design and pattern will be great enough to win me some FREE yarn, or at least give me the courage to try again.

When I signed up for the contest almost a month ago I immediately started running ideas through my head, but every time I took my idea and made a knitted swatch it just didn’t come out the way I had envisioned. So each and every time I was sent back to the drawing board for an alteration. I finally came up with an idea that I liked and actually looked nice in a knitted fabric. Then I received my yarn. You see the contest is for three different sock yarns and each of them have a different gauge and needle size, and the company decides what yarn to send. Needless to say the pattern that I worked up just wouldn’t work with the gauge of the yarn I received, so it was back to the drawing board once again.

I have since come up with a design and I have been experimenting with different cast ons and cast offs, as well as heel shaping. This is a great opportunity for me to create a sock with all my favorite features. Wish me luck! I will also need a test knitter or two so if you are interested let me know.

4 Responses to “I must be stinkin’ CRAZY”

  1. Miranda Says:

    You definitely have more balls (of yarn?) than I do! Good luck! I might able to be a test knitter too. As long as the pattern isn’t too hard!

  2. Nia Says:

    I would love to test knit for you.

  3. jae Says:

    I bet you’ll make a wonderful pattern! Do we get to see the yarn they sent or do you have to keep it secret?

  4. Dana Says:

    I’d be happy to test knit for you as well. If you have any questions about my latest sock, send me an e-mail, I’d be happy to help out! I’m doing mine on magic loop, toe up as well.


Leave a Reply

