Knitting for Hire

I am currently in full blown knitting for hire mode. So you might no hear too much from me over the next few weeks. I can tell you that there are pros and cons to doing Knitting for Hire jobs.

I have found that there are two different categories for Knitting for Hire Jobs: Test Knitting: where you are actually testing the pattern to make sure it is clearly written and doesn’t contain mistakes; and Sample Knitting: where you are not only reviewing the pattern for clarity, but also producing a sample garment that will be returned to the designer.

For Test Knitting, there are many designers that recruit knitters to review their pattern before they publish it. A lot of these designers look for knitters who will use their own materials and don’t expect to be paid for their time or materials. I have found that it is fun to work for these types designers because you can usually get a copy of the pattern for free, both when you test the pattern and usually when the final pattern, without errors, is published. Plus, you are one of the first to knit the project. The drawback that I have found is that sometimes it is necessary to make a purchase to meet the requirements for the pattern. Typically, I will only do this type of test knitting if I have the materials already on hand.

Sample Knitting is a different ball game all together. Designers requiring Sample Knitters will provide the materials and will also pay for the knitting, usually by the yard. Now don’t think you will get paid and also get to keep the item. No sir, the designers require the items for what they call Trunk Shows. They take their garments around to different shows to sell the pattern to the wholesale market.

One of the things I love about sample knitting jobs is that I learn so much and typically, I get to use yarn that I have never used before and might not have selected on my own. Understand that sample knitting is not a huge moneymaker, but I find it fun as well as educational.

Don’t get me wrong, there are the drawbacks as well. For starters, when I am in a time crunch to get a project completed for a designer I get little, if any, work done on my own personal projects. This makes it very difficult to knit up my stash, but I have found the benefits outweigh the drawbacks in this case.  Because it also means I am less likely to want to purchase more yarn.

12 Responses to “Knitting for Hire”

  1. Kathy Says:

    So wonderful to be able to ‘work’ at something you have a passion for! So are you doing both test and sample knitting right now?

  2. Susasn Vincent Says:

    I am looking for knitters to knit samples, particularly children’s items, e.g. sweaters. All items are from high quality yarns. The knitted samples must be returned to me; but the excess yarn may be kept by you.

    • Susan Vincent Says:

      I am interested in your proposal for knitting for hire. It’s a bit new to me. I have used Ghost Knitters out of New Jersey, but not with tremendous success. They send the projects out of the country. The turnaround time is a factor. Do you have any ideas how much you might charge or how you would charge for projects? I’m open to your ideas.

    • Aparna Says:

      I realize that your post is at least 2-3 yrs old now. Are you still looking for a sample knitter ? Please let me know.

  3. Trish Says:

    I am an American now living in Amsterdam. I found this site because I would really like to pay what it takes to have several garments knitted for me, eg, long sweaters and sweater dresses. (I am curious why there are more knitters for hire.) I am open to any ideas and responses because I am eager to find a solution. I ride my bike everywhere and knitted clothing is the ideal for warmth and style. Thanks for reading this! I look forward to your responses…
    – Trish
    patriciakellypassarelli AT googlemail DOT COM

  4. Karen Bester Says:

    I am looking for more information about test and sample knitting. I have been asked if I would do this type of knitting a couple times…and again in the past week. This comes as result of my frustrations with patterns that have errors…and enquiries to publishers and designers and wholesalers. I would like to hear from anyone who is hiring knitters and also from knitters who do this type of knitting. Thank you.

  5. Futon Twin Says:

    Like always, your post is insightful plus wonderfully written thanks. Keep up the high-quality work I love your site! ;-)

  6. Mary Howell Cromer Says:

    Hi, I live in KY and I have been searching for someone to knit a Nordic/Fair Isle/ circular yoke cardigan sweater for me. I have the colours in mind and would prefer purchasing the yarn myself and sending to the person that might be interested in this task. I would appreciate any help on this. Mary

  7. Alison Says:

    What are some organizations you test or sample knit for?

    • bloomingknitter Says:

      I don’t knit for organizations, I typical knit for individuals. If you have additional questions, please let me know.

  8. Nanatte Wright Says:

    Hello. I found what you wrote inspiring. I am an experienced knitter, recently “retired” from teaching, who would like to knit and get paid to knit. The amount I make is not relevant, but I do not have any contacts, nor information where to seek this type of employment, Would you mind sharing a few contacts with me? I would so appreciate that, or even some ideas how to pursue this avenue.
    Sincerely,
    Knotty Nan

    • bloomingknitter Says:

      Since I started the podcast I haven’t really been doing a lot if Knitting for hire. You can find designers who need knitters to knit samples just about anywhere on Ravelry or on the Internet. Just contact them to see if they have any samples they need committed. You could also try contacting the yarn companies to see if they need sample knitters. I hope that get you started.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 99 other followers

